16 March 2013 … DAY 2

Saturday: (Joe Rollins)

Mark was waiting for this day to have his hair cut by his amigo.

Mark was waiting for this day to have his hair cut by his amigo.

Today has been a great day!

Hayley takes advantage of the morning hour to practice her story during her teaching lesson.

Hayley takes advantage of the morning hour to practice her story during her teaching lesson.

This morning I went for a water hunt with my roommate (Athan) and ended up getting a random tour around the DR because a guy wanted a tip! For some reason people here love American tipping. haha

Around 2:00pm the group met up to go get a meal at this good restaurant!  It is a bit frustrating here though because without Spanish it is very hard to communicate…nearly impossible.  One of the funniest things happened today though: I noticed that as long as I walked with the girls, the people in the Dominican were really nice! They love ladies. At about 4:00pm we were supposed to go for a tour, but ended up leaving around 4:30 because Emily was no where to be found. haha …
Here is the crew of 2013.

Here is the crew of 2013.

Once we got to the Colonial zone the sites were very nice.  The Dominican Republic doesn’t seem to have a great deal of money invested in the infrastructure as seen in the US. This is just a basic observation. But, there sure is a style to the people here! They have a lot of fun and this is expressed through their conversations and interactions. We walked along the El Conde tonight. There was a gathering of individuals in the middle of the walkway having a game of chess. How cool was this? After watching a bit, I jumped in to have a game with the Dominicans! Even though I lost, it was a good time!

We went shopping on the El Conde and a whole lot of bartering had to be done for me to get good prices on items. I have to keep reminding myself that 100 pesos is only like 3 dollars in American dollars. This is so hard to fathom.

Taking the foot tour of the old city.

Taking the foot tour of the old city.

The food here is really good as well; they use different sauce for the pizza than what I am used to in America.
On a side note, the man at the front desk of the hotel is really nice. He told me about a few nice beach spots and gave me a bunch of internet codes so I can get on whenever I want. We are done for the day and now the gang and I are going to go and have a good gathering for the night! See ya!
Joseph Rollins
2 Responses to “16 March 2013 … DAY 2”

  1. Tracy Says:

    I know everyone loves Emily but maybe someone should buy her a watch while she is there . Just a thought guys! Nice job with your blog Joe – I loved the pictures !
    Tracy

  2. Emily Says:

    I couldn’t get my safe open! We had to call the hotel to open the stupid thing so I could get my wallet out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

